Achieving native 1680x1050 resolution in Syncmaster 2253BW monitor

13 Antworten [Letzter Beitrag]
amenex
Beigetreten: 01/03/2015

Recently I gave up on a couple of other distro's wherein I could not get the attached monitor to reach its native reolution of 1680x1050 pixels, which I had been able to see with a debian ditribution until its Nvidia video card broke. I retired that computer. The "new" computer is the troublesome one. Now I am trying Trisquel 7.0, and I cannot find anything on how to configure this Samsung SyncMaster 2253BW monitor. Its aspect ratio is an uncommon 8:5.

Please don't tell me I have to use another Nvidia video card ... it's as nonfree as they get, and difficult to install as well.

I am willing to switch video cards, however; the present one that came with this low-end HP 6430NX desktop PC is an S3 Graphics Ltd VT8375, a.k.a. ProSavage. The RAM is 2GB.

SuperTramp83

I am a translator!

Beigetreten: 10/31/2014

almost no nvidia card will work properly on trisquel.
the same goes with ati.
integrated intel graphics cards work well!

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Beigetreten: 07/24/2010

S3 Graphics

That is not nVidia. That is, well, S3 Graphics! That company was manufacturing video cards (with no 3D acceleration I believe) in the 90s. It is possible that the card itself does not support the resolution you want! I do not think there is any independent effort to make a Linux driver for S3's cards. So, you must be stuck with what S3 contributed to Linux... if it ever contributed anything (otherwise you are use the generic "vesa" driver). Sorry.

amenex

Samsung (maker of the SyncMaster 2253BW) is of no help; explicitly - that's what they say.

Search on "VESA configuration" returns information of interest only to developers.

My "Displays" GUI lists only a few, lower resolutions.

Grub displays a very sharp, crisp extremely high resolution text menu that tells me that Grub knows how to set the screen resolution.