Guix on Trisquel 9

28 Antworten [Letzter Beitrag]
Cyberhawk

I am a translator!

Beigetreten: 07/27/2010

I've tried installing GNU guix according to this. Used the recommended binary installation script. I am running Triskel 9.0.

Initially my installation did not seem too broken. I was able to run guix search and guix install. Tried installing mps-youtube, but it did not start (some locale related problems). I tried something along the lines of upgrading all packages with guix (assumed it would only update it's own index and packages installed through guix)... I think what I did was "guix pull" and "guix upgrade". It did not help. After a reboot my system was not working anymore.

KDE plasma told me right after login: "All shell packages missing. This is an installation issue, please contact your distribution". Mouse cursor was there, the popup window with the message was there, but nothing more.

I was not able to fix this, so removing guix manually (stopping the services and removing related directories and files) was the only option to go back.

Does anyone here use GNU guix package manager with Trisquel 9.0? If so, how do you do it?

andyprough
Beigetreten: 02/12/2015

Here's the steps I used to install Guix in January 2021. I used it to install ungoogled-chromium at that time. I hope they work for you. They must have worked well for me, as I see that I proclaimed guix the "ideal trisquel packaging solution" back then. Not sure why I stopped using it. Probably because I over-wrote that partition while hacking the non-free guts out of antiX.

Steps to install guix (Jan. 2021) -

Guix installation:
https://guix.gnu.org/manual/en/html_node/Binary-Installation.html

install nscd dependency

as root:
cd /tmp
wget https://git.savannah.gnu.org/cgit/guix.git/plain/etc/guix-install.sh
chmod +x guix-install.sh
./guix-install.sh

start the daemon manually with:
sudo ~root/.config/guix/current/bin/guix-daemon --build-users-group=guixbuild