Trisquel or Debian

7 Antworten [Letzter Beitrag]
Alice Wilton
Beigetreten: 03/17/2023

Hi all! What are the advantages of using Trisquel over Debian without non-free repos?

prospero
Beigetreten: 05/20/2022

The Troll Lounge, mostly.

Also, using a 100% libre operating system rather than not: https://trisquel.info/en/forum/debian-votes-include-non-free-firmware-installer.

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Beigetreten: 07/24/2010

First of all: welcome!

Trisquel's base is Ubuntu, which modifies many packages in Debian, and the Trisquel project further modifies more packages, often to remove recommendations of proprietary software but also to enhance privacy. I think in particular of Abrowser and Icedove, which are Trisquel's rebranded Firefox and Thunderbird. See https://gitlab.trisquel.org/trisquel/package-helpers/-/tree/aramo/helpers for all the so-called "package helpers" that apply those modifications.

After the already-discussed alteration of Debian's social contract, to have Debian's ISO load and install non-free firmware by default, that contract moves further away from Trisquel's community guidelines. Here, in this forum, in the documentation, on IRC, ..., you will only find free software solutions to your problems. Unlike in Debian's community.

Alice Wilton
Beigetreten: 03/17/2023

I am moving away from Ubuntu. Enhanced privacy in Trisquel sounds tempting, I'll take it into consideration. There is so much to attend to...

Malsasa
Beigetreten: 12/01/2016

To all friends who want a fully free software system like Trisquel but
even closer to Debian, you can consider Gnuinos
https://www.gnuinos.org.

"Welcome to the website of gnuinos, a ready-to-use operating system
that aims to be entirely free as in freedom. This means that we reject
all the nonfree stuff, whether software, manuals or documentation. "
-Gnuinos Front Page-

It is based on Devuan which in turn is based on Debian. It runs with