What's wrong with DOCX?

8 Antworten [Letzter Beitrag]
calher

I am a member!

Beigetreten: 06/19/2015

If people use MP4, then why not use DOCX? Both are patent-encumbered
formats that can easily be written and read by free software, right?

--
Caleb Herbert
OpenPGP public key: http://bluehome.net/csh/pubkey

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Beigetreten: 07/24/2010

OOXML is a standard (a requirement for many administrations), which was accepted in a fast-track process thanks to bought votes: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standardization_of_Office_Open_XML

It makes little technical sense: it is huge (~7200 pages nowadays, vs. ~1000 pages for ODF) because it standardizes all the weird things (including bugs!) present in the Microsoft Office suite. It contains elements such as "autoSpaceLikeWord95", "footnoteLayoutLikeWW8", "lineWrapLikeWord6", "shapeLayoutLikeWW8", "truncateFontHeightsLikeWP6", "uiCompat97To2003", "useWord2002TableStyleRules", "useWord97LineBreakRules", etc.: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Office_Open_XML_file_formats#Compatibility_settings

It was the first (and only?) time ISO was co-opted to accept a useless (ODF was already an international standard) and technically inferior format, which even contradicts with other ISO standards (e.g., to specify dates, colors, etc.). OOXML allows to embed binary blobs, which is completely absurd for what is supposedly a standard. Even two years after OOXML become an ISO standard, no office suite (not even Microsoft Office 2010) was strictly implementing it. Normally, the ISO committee insists on a reference implementation.

In the end, OOXML is not vendor-neutral. It is designed so that only Microsoft Office could properly read/write DOCX and the likes. Not really a standard...

onpon4
Beigetreten: 05/30/2012