Canonical is killing Unity 8, will ship GNOME as default

26 replies [Last post]
albertoefg

This is not a joke

http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2017/04/ubuntu-18-04-ship-gnome-desktop-not-unity

Personally I think this is great, this will mean more work in making GNOME great, and unites the community.

I hope, this will also mean killing Snaps and just adoption of flatpak, Fedora and Arch already have them, so it will help to have software that most distributions can use, including of course FSF endorsed distributions :)

albertoefg

Sorry for the trump like comment, making GNOME great again :)

I am just happy for this change

SuperTramp83

I am a translator!

vita_cell

I do not like GNOME, today is a tablet interface, which is fine for tablet computer. GNOME 2 or flashback version it is not so bad. I still prefer GNOME forks like MATE.

inkoia

Your statement is not true. With just 1 extension, "Dash to dock", your problem is solved. There are plenty of extension to solve other "inconvenient issues", ;).

Megver83

I agree, I don not like it too, latest versions depend hardly on Systemd, why a DE would depend on an init? because Systemd it is not really an init, it does things that are not related in what an init must do. This may be a different topic, but anyway, it is true.

SuperTramp83

I am a translator!

>why a DE would depend on an init?

It's really simple, mate: because Pottering can!

systemd324.jpeg
Megver83

oh, I <3 that meme, I even uploaded it to Diaspora* :D
https://diasp.org/posts/7026561
8 likes up to now :P

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

As far as know, GNOME Shell only depends on systemd-logind. logind replaced ConsoleKit (GNOME used to depend on it), which stopped being maintained four years ago: https://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Software/ConsoleKit/