Cashless Coronavirus

22 replies [Last post]
PsychicEcho

Isn't it 'convenient' how during this corona virus, businesses are being pressured to only accept electronic payments?

If the plutocracy gains the power to flick a switch and turn off individual's ability to buy and sell, who they see as opposition to their hegemony, they will most certainly use it.

chaosmonk

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Fortunately none of the stores I go to have stopped accepting cash. At many stores, cash seems like the safer way to pay, because the credit card reader requires customers to all wipe their fingers on the same touch screen. At least the cashier is using gloves to handle cash, unlike the many customers coming in and paying wiht their credit card. I try to pay with exact change when I can so that less handling is needed.

lutes

Systematically using hand sanitizer before and after visiting a shop might create coronavirusless cash.

At least it should provide reasonably coronavirusless hands.

That said, contact with infected surfaces does not seem to be the main transmission driver [1]. This might however be partly because systematic use of hand sanitizer has been more widely accepted.

[1] https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/how-covid-spreads.html

nadebula.1984

COVID is a good chance for governments to impose surveillance -- too good to miss.

One of my smart phones is dedicated to run such (mandatory) surveillance malware.

PsychicEcho

Here, there are signs up at stores asking customers to pay with electronic payment, and that the banks are making it more difficult for them to deposit cash. I haven't seen any stop accepting cash yet.

The plutocracy will always look for pretexts to push through their agendas.

lutes

> the banks are making it more difficult for them to deposit cash.

On what corner of the galaxy are you living, if we may ask?

PsychicEcho

North America

lutes