GNU/Linux installation on libreboot machines

10 replies [Last post]
Cyberhawk

I am a translator!

Hello everyone!

I just received my first librebooted machine, the X200 Thinkpad. Thank you vikings!

It has Trisquel 8 installed, with full disk encryption, ready to go. I'm enjoying the great keyboard on this thing right now as I type. Feels great to finally own this!

Since this is the first time I ever held a machine with libreboot in my hands, I have some questions.

1. How much of a hit does performance take with full disk encryption? My past experiences show that performance does take a very significant hit when encrypting /home. But maybe I was doing it wrong? My new X200 feels really fast and responsive, but I didn't try anything more demanding than using abrowser yet...

2. How difficult is it to install a GNU/Linux on the X200 with libreboot? I read the documentation on libreboot.org and it mentions typing in commands in the grub menu, and manually creating a grub configuration after install to get a bootmenu and prevent manually typing boot commands each time. Is that actually required for all machines with libreboot?

Cyberhawk

I am a translator!

Thanks for all the input!

I just recently managed to re-install Trisquel, with no encryption and an 8GB swap in addition to my 8GB RAM. That ought to be more than enough for me.

> I could only hibernate back then by using the original kernel when I installed trisquel. Once though I installed a different kernel, forget
> about it...

During installation I choose linux-generic, so maybe suspending and/or hibernating will work now, checking it later today.

> I bought the X200 with libreboot pre-installed, so it's possible that
> the vendor customized the config files in some way, but I did not