Hello everyone! I have a question about this part of Trisquel GNU/Linux

23 replies [Last post]
Symphony

Recently I've been seeing that some GNU/Linux distributions have been dropping 32-bit support out of their plans. This including Ubuntu and Arch (although, for the latter, there is arch32 which fixes that and the libre-projects known as Parabola GNU/Linux and Hyperbola have 32-bit versions as well)

However, as the Trisquel project changed bases from Debian to Ubuntu 16.04. I wanted to know if plans to dropping 32-bit support and only 64 will be the future for Trisquel 9 Etiona? As upstream Ubuntu and its derivatives have all dropped support for this architecture, which I see a big shame.

Have a good day, cheers!

- Symphony

chaosmonk

I am a member!

I am a translator!

> I wanted to know if plans to dropping 32-bit support and only 64
> will be the future for Trisquel 9 Etiona?

Trisquel 9 will be based on Ubuntu 18.04. Since 18.04 has 32-bit support
I do not think it will be a problem for Trisquel 9. Trisquel 9 will also
add support for some non-x68 architectures.

Do you know when Ubuntu is planning to drop 32-bit support? There is a
32-bit ISO for the 19.04 prerelease,[1] so it seems that they have not
done so yet. If they drop 32-bit support before 20.04 then this will
become an issue with Trisquel 10. If 20.04 does have 32-bit support then
it won't become an issue until Trisquel 11.

[1] http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/netboot/disco/

jxself

Even if Ubuntu does this it doesn't necessarily follow that Trisquel must as well. There has been no announcement that Trisquel will be doing this.

Symphony