11 replies [Last post]
Xmas

Translation from the french users forum :

Hello,

I introduce myself.

I am 60 years old; I am a journalist.
My first computer was a Macintosh SE in 1988. For 30 years, I have been an enthusiastic mac user. Long an ardent defender of Apple, my opinion changed, finding that I was in an increasingly closed world that was becoming a commercial ecosystem that was also being joined by the applications I was using, with the imposition of annual lifetime subscriptions or the succession of interest-free, if not counterproductive, paid updates.

At the same time, I became aware of the use of my personal data by Google, Facebook, etc. I have also become aware of the threat to democracy worldwide posed by the current evolution of data use.

A year ago, I made a radical shift. I left all social networks and switched to Gnu/Linux with free software.
My data is hosted in Switzerland by an independent hosting company that owns its servers.

I now use a PC with OpenSuse leap 15.1 which is mainly used for photo management.

Thanks to Magic Banana who kindly informed me about Trisquel, my main computer is now a Lenovo T400 with libreboot and Trisquel.

I also became a member of the FSF.

I am probably part of a new generation of gnu/linux users, without technical skills but with a lot of determination in their choice.

Xmas

loldier

Welcome. Nice introduction. Hope you like it here. Happy hacking.

https://invidio.us/watch?v=vD9VD6xT1FA

Beko

Welcome! We are in the same boat, I'm also quite new to GNU. There are many helpful people in the Trisquel forums that have helped me solve most of my problems going from Windows (Also used Mac) to GNU/Linux. I will help if it is within my ability.

Pablo G

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Hola

Para usuarios hispanohablantes tienes el foro en español.

saludos.

Here you should speak english

Greetings

Malsasa

On 9/30/19, name at domain <name at domain> wrote:
> Translation from the french users forum :
>