VirtualBox - Can't see mounted ISO

6 replies [Last post]
pstrg

Installed within VirtualBox 6.1.0 running under Windows 10.
However, an ISO file that's included as IDE in the Trisquel-Mini VM configuration (VBoxGuestAdditions.iso) doesn't show up in the filesystem as it should.
Please note that I'm a Linux newbie, but have installed other Debian-based distros as VMs successfully.

nadebula.1984

It's a good idea to start studying GNU/Linux in VMs. And you have chosen a good hypervisor for Windows. VirtualBox is almost free/libre as well as beginner-friendly. In my practice, I'd also like to suggest beginners that they start with VirtualBox.

If the Guest Addition ISO file is included in the main binary file (released under GPL v2) but not in the Extension Pack (non-free), then there's no major freedom issue.

However, I never used the Guest Additions in practice. I just checked the Section 4.1 of the VirtualBox manual describing said Add-ons. On GNU/Linux guest operating systems, I don't really need the features provided by the Add-ons. In other words, I can easily find better alternatives. Let's talk about the features provided by the Addition pack:

1. Mouse pointer integration. Any modern GNU/Linux distribution should support this out-of-box.

2. Shared folders. Just install SSH server on the GNU/Linux guest operating system, and you should be able to share files securely. (You need to set the NIC to non-NAT mode, or else configure port forwarding. I set two NICs for my VM. One is set to NAT mode to access Internet, and the other is set to Host Only to share files with the physical host and/or other VMs.) Use free/libre software like FileZilla under your Windows host to access your SFTP server in the VM.

3. Better video support. Even with this addition, you can't expect to use your VM as a gaming console.