What OS were you using when you switched to Trisquel?

28 replies [Last post]
pragmatist

I am a member!

Based on a comment by loldier here: https://trisquel.info/en/forum/who-working-trisquel-8-theme-asking-again#comment-93123

I thought it would be interesting to see what OS people used just before switching to Trisquel.

I've used various GNU/Linux distros on my machines as part of a dual boot with Windows for the last 14 years. After watching and reading a bunch of stuff by rms I found out about Trisquel and recently I made the final switch and now all of my computers have only Trisquel on them.

andermetalsh

I think OpenBSD 5.4, I can't remember.

oysterboy

I am a member!

I am a translator!

I believe it was Linux Mint. Switching to Trisquel was easy as both distributions are Ubuntu-based.

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Back in 2010, when I switched to Trisquel, I was probably using gNewSense or BLAG. But not for long. I spent more years on Gentoo before that.

onpon4

Actually, before I switched to Trisquel, my laptop was in limbo sitting in a computer repair shop that ended up not doing anything to fix it (not surprisingly, they're no longer in business today). When I had access to our desktop computer, I used Mint or Windows 7, depending on the situation. But if you were to ask me what my primary computer at the time was, I would have said that it was my OpenPandora, and the OS I was using on that was either SuperZaxxon or Zaxxon (I'm not entirely sure about the timing when SuperZaxxon came out).

At some point, I decided to try an FSF-endorsed distro, and Trisquel was the one that looked most appealing. So I installed it on our desktop computers alongside Windows and Mint, and I started using it, but my Pandora was still pretty much my main computer. Some months later, I finally got my laptop back, and I promptly erased both Windows Vista and Mint (the systems I had on my laptop at the time) and replaced them with Trisquel 5.5.