What is the smallest/lightest device running Trisquel and able to do email, pdf reading, web browsing and voice calls?

5 replies [Last post]
Avron

I am a translator!

Out of pandemic time, I need to travel a lot and carry a company laptop (running Losedows) that I don't want to use for anything else than company work (booting on an external disk is not possible). I have to keep this with me at all times, it is 1.7 kg and takes significant space in my bag, in which I need to have other things, so I don't want to add a second laptop of similar dimensions and weight, but I need some device for personal email, pdf reading, web browsing and voice calls (over free software of course).

Something of the size of a mobile phone or a tablet (at most 10 inch screen) would be good, less than 500g I hope. I could connect a light portable keyboard if there is no touch screen. If that is running another FSF-endorsed GNU/Linux distribution, that is also ok.

Does anyone have something like that?

nadebula.1984

X200s with 4-cell battery. It's very light and fully supported by coreboot bloblessly. Even if you temporarily can't flash coreboot on it, there is an Atheros WLAN card usable (AR2425 with Lenovo's FRU number 43Y6511).

Or else you can install GNU/Linux in a virtual machine on your business computer. Free/libre hypervisors can provide reliable isolation.

Avron

I am a translator!

Thanks for the advice. I found an add saying "from 1.13kg" maybe that is with the 4-cell battery? I even see that Technoethical is selling X200s with Libreboot but the description says it is 1.7kg so probably with a much heavier battery.

nadebula.1984

The actual weight of X200s depends on the screen (upper half) and the battery.