Why does no insider disclose the non libre computer software?

19 replies [Last post]
tonlee

How do chip manufacturers accomplish to keep the pieces of software that runs their hardware secret?
Who, how and how many guard the secret parts of software on hardware? Do we know how it is organized? How do the companies manage to keep their secrets? Do very few have the source code? Are they highly paid, which make them loyal? Are there any articles on the subject? I have not heard about one piece of windows source software being leaked.
I asked the free software foundation these questions and got no answer. What do you know?

SuperTramp83

I am a translator!

In medieval cities, craftsmen tended to form associations based on their trades, confraternities of textile workers, masons, carpenters, carvers, glass workers, each of whom controlled secrets of traditionally imparted technology, the "arts" or "mysteries" of their crafts.
The guild was made up by experienced and confirmed experts in their field of handicraft. They were called master craftsmen. Before a new employee could rise to the level of mastery, he had to go through a schooling period during which he was first called an apprentice. After this period he could rise to the level of journeyman. Apprentices would typically not learn more than the most basic techniques until they were trusted by their peers to keep the guild's or company's secrets.

jxself

"Why does no insider disclose..."

Because the insider will lose their job. And get sued for any number of things: copyright violations, trade secret violations, violating the non-disclosure agreement they signed when they started working there... Maybe charge them with industrial espionage too. The company would probably try to throw on as many charges as they possibly could in an attempt to see what they could make stick.

loldier

I have not heard about one piece of windows source software being leaked.