Yet another find a printer question

15 replies [Last post]
nparafe

I am a member!

I would like help for an all in one printer and scanner that works with free software.

It must be color, inject and preferable to have only usb connection and without lcd screen. The less "smart" features the better.

So far I have found Hp Smart Tank 500. Is there anyone by change who has experience with this model?

Ark74

I am a member!

I am a translator!

I would say h-node is your friend in this case.

IIRC, hp has several working models, but I'm a bit outdated in that regard.

Avron

I am a translator!

I have searched for a large number of printers/scanners in h-node and could not find any to buy. Perhaps because printer/scanner manufacturers tend to change models extremely rapidly.

I came across:

Would things listed as "driverless printers" work with Trisquel?
Would scanner models listed by Sane work?

nparafe

I am a member!

Yes I agree, h-node, although it is really important for us, doesn't really help in my case.

Vikings_thum

I can highly recommend the Epson Eco Tank series.

lanun

I bought a 10€ second-hand HP Deskjet 2050A some years ago. It is printing, scanning and copying fine, USB only.

Trisquel sees it as "Deskjet-2050-J510-series" as a printer and Simple Scan calls it "HP Deskjet_2050_J510_series".

https://h-node.org/printers/view/en/601/Hewlett-Packard-Deskjet-2050-J510/2/1/Hewlett-Packard/undef/undef/undef/compatibility/deskjet

vita_cell

HP LaserJet Pro M15a, works with free software. Small, fast, simple, few things, and doesn't need to change chips.

JC8
JC8

A lot of (dumb) printers nowadays are just plug and play because of the Gutenprint free driver library. I have a Canon MG2550S which has everything you're looking for and it's plug & play on any system that has Gutenprint installed, although it can consume a lot of ink, but so do most ink printers.