GNU parted - how to update to new version?

13 réponses [Dernière contribution]
user4234
A rejoint: 12/11/2016

I want to update GNU parted from version 2.3 to a never version with:

$ sudo aptitude install parted

but the output is:

$ No packages will be installed, upgraded, or removed.

why is that?

is it important/makes it any difference for the use of ext4 to have a new version of GNU parted?

SuperTramp83

I am a translator!

A rejoint: 10/31/2014

I guess you are talking about the GNOME Partition Editor, that is gparted.

sudo apt-get install gparted

or, why not, using aptitude

sudo aptitude install gparted

>is it important/makes it any difference for the use of ext4 to have a new version of GNU parted?

Absolutely of no importance at all AFAIK

user4234
SuperTramp83

I am a translator!

I see, my bad. But may ask what is wrong with simply using gparted for your purpose?

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

A rejoint: 07/24/2010

There is nothing wrong. If you prefer GUI, it is the way to go. GParted uses GNU parted.

SuperTramp83

I am a translator!

Sure, mate Bannanna Magique, I know. I am not one of those 'gimme only muh CLI apps' guy. In fact I think gparted is one of the most amazing software on my computer. I also am not willing to spend 5 hours studying parted to do what gparted does perfectly well and without any issue.

I was asking the OP, they seem to be quite decided on parted, hence my wonder.

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

GNU parted uses 'mke2fs' to create an ext4 filesystem.

user4234

how can I update GNU parted 2.3 via terminal? the program failed to make an ext4 partition.

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Again, 'parted' uses 'mke2fs', a separate program, to create an ext4 filesystem. Updating GNU parted would not make any difference. Old or new, 'mke2fs' should not "fail". What is the error message?

user4234