HandBrake 0.9.6 released

18 réponses [Dernière contribution]
mYself
A rejoint: 01/18/2012

After more than a year of development, the cross-platform video transcoder HandBrake has been released. Among many improvements that are included within this new version is the new (but still experimental) AAC encoder which comes from libavcodec and should be on par with FAAC in terms of quality, even sometimes better! This means that HandBrake can be now considered fully free and does not need to be altered in any way in order to be included in the official repositories.

To make this new version available on Trisquel, run 'sudo add-apt-repository ppa:stebbins/handbrake-releases' from Terminal and update repositories with 'Update Manager'.

More information can be obtained from a 'Web Upd8' article, here:
http://www.webupd8.org/2012/02/handbrake-096-released-video-transcoder.html

aloniv

I am a translator!

A rejoint: 01/11/2011

As long as HandBrake contains the non-free FAAC encoder (which I assume is still part of HandBrake) it can not be included in Trisquel without being altered.

t3g
t3g
A rejoint: 05/15/2011

I saw this too as well. Does the new AAC encoder replace FAAC or is it supplemental?

lansburyslido
A rejoint: 08/29/2011

Debian/Sid lists handbrake-gtk (0.9.6-0.0) as containing libfaac0.

Parabola have blacklisted the package.

Handbrake listed the inclusion of the faac encoder as a critical bug nearly 2 years ago due to licensing issues but it hasn't been addressed as yet.

mYself

You are all right and I apologize. I just realized that the proprietary FAAC encoder is still included! It is a shame but it is good to know that this issue is being actively worked on. Here is a screenshot which shows FAAC on the drop-down list of audio encoders:
https://trisquel.info/files/handbrake-faac.png

Since HandBrake is included on the list of crowd-funded tasks, will this new version be included in the official repositories soon?

I wish all of you a nice day!

t3g
t3g