64 bit wireless drivers htc_9721

15 respostas [Última entrada]
BrighamKeys

I am a member!

I have a wireless card with the chipset AR9721 which uses the htc_9721 and htc_9010 drivers which in a 32 bit system can simply be cp'ed over to /lib/firmware/ and reboot and the wireless will work fine from there. But the problem is, is that my IBM ThinkPad R60 is 64 bit compatible, so this means that I have to compile the drivers from source if I am not mistaken, and the instructions that come with the source code from github require me to be connected to the internet during the compilation of these drivers, which means that I would have to be connected to eth0 which I do not currently have access to an ethernet connection, so I have no means to build this driver. Does anyone else have any help that they could offer? Anyone else having similar problems with wireless drivers?

"All war is, but class struggle"

Michał Masłowski

I am a member!

I am a translator!

The firmware that runs on AR9271 has a different architecture than any
Trisquel system (it's Xtensa). Both 32-bit and 64-bit Trisquel systems
use the same firmware files.

Legimet

Yes, that's right. The firmware does not run on the host CPU, it runs on the chip itself. So it doesn't matter if you run 32 or 64-bit Trisquel.

Since you don't have internet, get the apt-offline deb package from a computer with internet and install it on your offline computer with:
sudo dpkg -i apt-offline_1.1.1build1_all.deb

Then use apt-offline to install the packages linux-generic-lts-saucy and open-ath9k-htc-firmware. You will first need to update the cache. See this article for more information about apt-offline.

BrighamKeys

I am a member!