I've trashed the last copy of non-free GNU/Linux installation

4 respostas [Última entrada]
nadebula.1984

I trashed the last installation of non-free distribution (GNU/Linux Mint).

Before the re-installation, I made a copy of my /home directory (with highly-efficient zstd fast compression):

tar -cvf - ~ | zstd --fast > /path/file.tar.zst

After the re-installation and necessary configurations, I restored the backup:

zstd -cd /path/file.tar.zst | tar -xvf -

Only the MATE panel got broken (due to the conflicts between Debian's and Mint's MATE panel setting files). But I could easily restore the default settings of the panel (right click and select "Reset All Panels").

Cyberhawk

I am a translator!

Congrats! Do you use a separate partition for your /home, as St IGNUcius intended?

lanun

What about installing Trisquel? You could even try Trisquel+Guix one day, and tell us what you think.

I find it amazing that you keep posting on the Trisquel forum, only to advise people not to use it.

None of the current Trisquel packages is "obsolete" for me. People who want more recent versions surely know how to get them: they most probably use a rolling-release distro, like you do, or install Guix on top of Trisquel and get what they need.

nadebula.1984

It is true that I should have posted most topics on Debian forum. However, most people on Debian forum always recommend visitors to use their non-official, non-free images. They even recommended me to install all available non-free firmware to "maximize hardware compatibility". For me, Debian forum is no better than Ubuntu/Mint forum.

I was once Trisquel user long ago. However, I'd appreciate any changes in latest packages. Even a single function added to GNU Octave's packages helps me a lot. Consequently, I use a mixture of Debian's testing/unstable/experimental repositories.