HP Laserjet Pro m125nw MFP

2 risposte [Ultimo contenuto]
treforest
Iscritto: 11/17/2014

Hi all - first post!

So I really want to switch to a fully free distro (Trisquel). I bought a USB wifi adaptor from thinkpenguin.com to facilitate. The only problem is my printer, which by all accounts (according to HPLIP website) needs a proprietary driver from HP. Does anyone have any experience with this model? Could I possibly set it up under Ubuntu (which is what I'm currently running) and then access it via wifi from Trisquel? Would the Trisquel live environment give an indication, or would the installed version be different?

Thanks in anticipation.

Regards,

Hugh

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Iscritto: 07/24/2010

According to http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web/models/laserjet/hp_laserjet_pro_mfp_m125nw.html "a downloadable driver plug-in is required for printing support". I believe it is proprietary. That is not good. This plug-in would have to be in the system from where you print. Anyway you can try to set the printer up from the live environment. If it works, then it would work as well on the installed system. Otherwise, it won't. If you do not manage to set the printer up with the new utility, you can try the older one. To do so, install from Synaptic the package named "system-config-printer" (even on a live system without permanent storage: the installation would happen in RAM) and run 'system-config-printer' (e.g., from the prompt you obtain with Alt+F2).

Chris

I am a member!

Iscritto: 04/23/2011

If it works in Trisquel there is a bug. I've looked at the code for the HPLIP driver in Trisquel and Rubén has commented out the code that downloads the non-free pieces.