logitech m560 DO NOT buy this mouse.

No replies
arielenter

I am a member!

I am a translator!

If you find this post, chances are you want to change this mouse's behavior.

This mouse is a mess. Try to avoid it if you can. This mouse was designed for Windows 8.

Button 2 (which is usually the scroll's wheel button) is not present. Instead the scroll makes a clicking sound, and the mouse goes from "free-spinning mode" to "click-to-click" mode in some sort of mechanical way. I really needed that button 2 in my mouse, so I spend some time finding if there could be a way to make a square button under the scroll's wheel behave as button 2. Unfortunately I were unable to find any satisfactory solution to use this button, at lest not on one click :(

Let me show you how this mouse behaves, this was took from the following bug report trying to find a way to make this mouse usable:

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1035668

Default button mapping, as reported by xev and xinput:
Button 1 -> left click
Button 3 -> right click
Button 4 -> wheel up
Button 5 -> wheel down
Button 8 -> tilt left
Button 9 -> tilt right

And the problematic ones:
Pressing the forward button sends Super_R (keycode 134).
Pressing the back button sends simultaneously Super_L and d (keycodes 133 & 40).
Pressing the square button once, gives simultaneously Alt_L, Super_L and XF86TouchpadOff (keycodes 64, 133, 201).
Pressing it a second time is like pressing button 1.
This button alternates between those two states.
Moving the mouse to the left while pressing the square button gives simultaneously Control + Tab + Super_L, and button 1 when the square button is release.
Some times, after pressing the square button and releasing, and later you move the mouse to the left, it will still sent a Control + Tab + Super_L, so is not very consistent :(

I found the following page which really helped me a lot:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MouseCustomizations