Check internal HDD from installation USB (X200 with Libreboot with LVM and encryption, including /boot)

4 respuestas [Último envío]
Avron

I am a translator!

Desconectado/a
se unió: 08/18/2020

As my went back to my X200 that was running after finishing lunch, I saw strange errors from Gajim talking about a read only file system and it was impossible to get something working properly, so I decided to reboot. After entering the ciphering password for grub (I have Libreboot with /boot encrypted), I was asked for the ciphering password again (as usual) but I very soon got an (initramfs) prompt and no clue what to do.

I currently have no access to any other personal computer (I have a laptop from my employer running Losedows but I don't want to enter any personal information on it) but I have a Trisquel installation USB.

I can successfully boot on it, the internal HDD is visible in Caja, I can access it with the password. However, I guess I should check errors on the disk but I don't know what to do.

Searching on Trisquel's forum, I found https://trisquel.info/en/forum/check-disk-errors-and-fix-them-encrypted-disk#comment-81508 that said to locate the disk and here is what I get when following the advice:

trisquel@trisquel:/$ sudo blkid | grep mapper
/dev/mapper/luks-a0a6561b-94e3-4e12-a400-e91bb42935db: UUID="q20fYy-vepD-S0Nb-VUR6-wrZG-pxW8-8OP3VF" TYPE="LVM2_member"
/dev/mapper/matrix-rootvol: UUID="ca76e642-5d76-4fcc-9429-d786773da02a" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/mapper/matrix-swap: UUID="cc18b522-b952-4e22-92e4-9301a156f07a" TYPE="swap"
trisquel@trisquel:/$ 

Should I do a check on luks-*** or on matrix-rootvol and what command should I use?

About how I installed Trisquel: I followed https://notabug.org/libreboot/lbwww/src/8844c201ef0d1ab856fed2aa5148b89100fffe0d/site/docs/gnulinux/encrypted_trisquel.md which makes an encrypted /boot partition.