t3g
t3g
Desconectado/a
se unió: 05/15/2011
t3g
t3g
Desconectado/a

I can't edit my original post so here is another link supporting my original: https://hacks.mozilla.org/2012/03/video-mobile-and-the-open-web/

aloniv

I am a translator!

Desconectado/a
se unió: 01/11/2011

H.264 isn't going away anytime soon since unlike WebM it can be decoded via GPU.

Mozilla wishes to expand its browser's market share on mobile devices which rely on video decoding via GPU, so they must support H.264 via HTML5 on their mobile versions, since they cannot support it via the Adobe Flash plugin as Adobe dropped Flash on mobile devices (primarily due to Apple refusing to ship Flash on their mobile devices).

Mozilla cannot rely on Adobe to provide its plugin to desktop users either as they are dropping support for GNU/Linux users, so by providing H.264 via HTML5 Mozilla's desktop users will be able to playback high definition online content via GPU if their GPU supports it.

Chris

I am a member!

Desconectado/a
se unió: 04/23/2011

Mozilla should drop "support" for Adobe Flash on Microsoft Windows as Adobe has done for GNU/Linux.

There would probably be a fight given that it isn't Mozilla that is supporting it exactly. Mozilla blocking the plug-in and treating it as malicious (which it is) on each update would put a dent into Adobe's business though.

It would end up an instantly dead format give that Apple has already dropped support on its devices (non-desktop).

Cyberhawk

I am a translator!

Desconectado/a
se unió: 07/27/2010

I'd love to see that, the Windows version of Firefox reporting Flash as a spyware and forcing the user to remove it and never install it again.

aloniv

I am a translator!

Desconectado/a

Mozilla does support Adobe Flash - if you visit a website that requires Flash on FireFox and you don't have it installed Mozilla recommends the non-free Flash plugin (and not Gnash).

Chris

I am a member!

Desconectado/a
se unió: 04/23/2011