Kerala State Central Library
Palayam
Thiruvananthapuram

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Desconectado/a
se unió: 07/24/2010

According to http://hplipopensource.com/hplip-web/models/laserjet/hp_laserjet_p1005.html this printer requires both a "driver plug-in" and a firmware download for printing support. It is quite probable you will never be able to use it in freedom...

pepe
Desconectado/a
se unió: 05/01/2013

Magic Banana has reason. The HP LaserJet P1005 needs a non-free plugin to work. I used this printer in the past until I could buy a new HP freedom-friendly laser printer: HP LaserJet 400 M401a. Then I threw the HP LaserJet P1005 printer to the rubbish. Take care with same HP laser printers because they need non-free plugin to work!

These are my printers now:

HP LaserJet 400 M401a
HP Deskjet 1000 J110

Interest links:

https://trisquel.info/en/wiki/printer-freedom
https://trisquel.info/en/forum/laser-printer-compatible-trisquel-or-totally-free-distributions

Sorry for my english writing: it sucks!

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Desconectado/a
se unió: 07/24/2010
Chris

I am a member!

Desconectado/a
se unió: 04/23/2011