Just installed jxself's 3.18 kernel. Few questions.

4 respuestas [Último envío]
t3g
t3g
Desconectado/a
se unió: 05/15/2011

As you know, Linux 3.18 was released and Jason has the latest at jxself.org/linux-libre/ for you all to download in Trisquel. I'm sure this has been answered before, but is there a command to see all the firmware that has been blocked/deblobbed by the kernel?

When I built this PC, I made sure to have as much of my hardware open as I could. I noticed that my ethernet (r8169) that is part of motherboard doesn't work, but that is ok as I use the 802.11N dongle from Think Penguin.

If there's an easy way to see ALL of the stuff that's been blocked by the kernel that would be great.

quidam

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Desconectado/a
se unió: 12/22/2004

dmesg | grep DEBLOBBED

t3g
t3g
Desconectado/a

[ 4.924482] r8169 0000:09:00.0: Direct firmware load for /*(DEBLOBBED)*/ failed with error -2
[ 4.924888] r8169 0000:09:00.0 eth0: unable to load firmware patch /*(DEBLOBBED)*/ (-22)

That's what I got in the terminal and confirms my assumptions about the only non-free device. Either way, no big deal as I use WiFi as brought up earlier. Still, it would have been nice if my M5A99FX PRO R2.0 motherboard had free firmware for the only ethernet port. Oh well. Maybe I should bug ASUS.

Thanks for the help!

Jodiendo
Desconectado/a
se unió: 01/09/2013

TO T3g ONLY!!!

If your WIFI device embedded into your Motherboard?, you might have a chance to disable those drivers from the bios, before you install the drivers from ASUS, Instead you could use generic drivers, that are GPL-3 license.