When will I have support for my wireless? :( RT3290

17 respuestas [Último envío]
pogiako12345
Desconectado/a
se unió: 07/11/2014

That issuse concerns Toutatis, I am currently installing 7 beta. Hopefully it resolves most issues I have with wifi and printing. I can't event print via cable :(

leny2010

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Desconectado/a
se unió: 09/15/2011

You have support with a GPL driver and possibly firmware from the manufacturer here:

http://www.mediatek.com/en/downloads/rt3290-pcie/

AFAIK Linux Libre does not include firmware blobs for which there is no source even if it is legally licensed as GPL. So I suggest when you have it working get reverse engineering just like RMS said in his GNU 30th speech. :-)

pogiako12345
Desconectado/a

I just got the free driver, thanks! How do I use it now?

leny2010

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Desconectado/a

wireless? :( RT3290
Date: Sun, 20 Jul 2014 19:03:01 +0200 (CEST)

> I just got the free driver, thanks! How do I use it now?

Looking at the actual code and firmware myself it's a really bad
licensing compliance mess, so don't. Get a replacement card or USB
stick from Thinkpenguin instead.

Leny

pogiako12345
Desconectado/a

-_-
So does that mean I can never use my wireless hardware?

quiliro@congresolibre.org
Desconectado/a
se unió: 10/28/2010

El 20/07/14 14:17, name at domain escribió:
> -_-
> So does that mean I can never use my wireless hardware?
>

Not in freedom unless you can reverse engineer it.

--
Saludos libres,
Quiliro Ordóñez
600 8579

pogiako12345
Desconectado/a

Mmmmm, hoepfully there's a big interest of the community on this :D I'd probably end up getting me a free software laptop :D

leny2010

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Desconectado/a

> So does that mean I can never use my wireless hardware?

For the time being and for someone who is self evidently not a kernel
programmer the right answer is to either replace the internal PCIe