rt2800usb on trisquel

14 réponses [Dernière contribution]
Togusa
A rejoint: 03/06/2013

the one thing that keeps me from migrating to trisquel (or any other fsf-approved distribution) is the fact that i use a linksys wireless adapter that is a part of the ralink rt2870 chipset, which to my understanding is a rather common ralink variant.

when i tried migrating to debian, i had to set up the staging drivers (an annoying step, since i was without internet connection, and had to locally install the firmware-ralink package).

when i migrated to arch, i found out that the replacement for it: rt2800usb was merged into the kernel, and as a result, i didn't require any additional setup. when i tried this on the trisquel live disc, i was without internet.

what do?

silemmo
A rejoint: 10/25/2012

I am not an expert, but I think that is it because Trisquel uses linux-libre not linux. Linux-libre removes non-free firmwares from linux.

I understand your problems, but the goal here is to be as much free as we can. Sometimes our lack of knowledge or money make thinks difficult. But know that you know when you will choose your next computer you will have the knowledge to choose free hardware.

So if you have to use non-free software for a (preferable short) period of transition or you don't have the money or the knowledge (to code a free firmware in your case) it's not a crime ;-)

Togusa
A rejoint: 03/06/2013

Using non-free software on Trisquel just defeats the whole purpose of using Trisquel in the first place.

I only have two PCs (a laptop and a desktop), and BOTH require proprietary firmware for their wireless chips . . .

silemmo
A rejoint: 10/25/2012

You are right, I agree with you.

It's just that if you cannot do otherwise dont beat your self up.

It's better to use the maximum of free software that you can that saying "ok a give up I go back to Windows".