Connecting an EPSON Workforce WF 3640 Printer to Trisquel on Lenovo T400 Libreboot

10 Antworten [Letzter Beitrag]
andrewandmelissao
Beigetreten: 03/29/2018

Hello everyone, I am brand new to this forum and I am excited to read through the content on the forum. I am just hoping someone can help me out. I have an Epson Workforce WF 3540 Printer and I have a USB running from the printer to my Lenovo T400 Laptop running Libreboot and Trisquel. I have tried adding a new printer on the network. The printer does appear, but when I click on the logo and click the button to setup printer, I get the error "Failed to add new printer". I did look into downloading a driver from the Epson website, but after calling them, they said a driver would not be necessary and that I should be able to connect just through USB. Any help and assistance on this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all so much!

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Beigetreten: 07/24/2010

A driver is necessary. The help desk probably said that it should be installed by default in your distribution. Is the package "printer-driver-all" installed on your system? If so, it may be that the printer is recent and Trisquel 7 does not have the driver. Trisquel 8 may have it. Try to add the printer from Trisquel 8's live system and see: http://jenkins.trisquel.info/makeiso/iso/trisquel_8.0_amd64.iso

andrewandmelissao

Thanks Magic Banana for the reply and help. I figured a driver was necessary. It seems like I have Trisquel 7 running on my computer. Is there a way to upgrade my computer to Trisquel 8 without wiping all my data off? Also, the link you shared above is not found. How can I check if I have the package "printer-driver-all" installed on my system? Thanks again for your help!

loldier
Beigetreten: 02/17/2016

Quidam must be working on that iso (removed for now).

Try this link:

http://jenkins.trisquel.info/makeiso/iso/20180401/trisquel-mini_8.0_amd64.iso

Try

apt show printer-driver-all