Successful Trisquel install on a MacBookPro 13,2

5 Antworten [Letzter Beitrag]
Avron

I am a translator!

Beigetreten: 08/18/2020

Just to report that installation of Trisquel 11.0 Mate edition worked without any issue on a MacBookPro 13,2 (from 2013 I think). I simply booted on the USB installer, went for the default options (I still selected LVM and ciphering) and after reboot Trisquel was there. everything worked fine. Everything works, besides wifi of course but I have a USB adapter for that.

For some reason, when I choose French in the installer, I always get some strange keyboard layout pre-selected, so I change it, but that is pretty easy.

I only noticed one small inconvenience: in the graphical login screen, everything is really small. After log in, the display is fine (scaling is applied).

PublicLewdness
Beigetreten: 03/15/2020

That's good news. My wife has a Macbook Air from that era so once she's done with it I may see if I can do the same for fun.

Avron

I am a translator!

I forgot a little piece of information: to boot from USB (to try or to install), one needs to press and hold the "option key" (on that computer, it is left alt) after the boot sound then select USB in the boot screen.

One argument for me to suggest installing Trisquel on that computer was that Apple stopped providing any update for it one year ago.

Also, I ran "Try Trisquel without installing" on my boyfriend's iMac from 2012, it seems to work fine. It has an Nvidia GeForce GTX 675MX. I ran "sudo glxinfo -B", it says:

trisquel@trisquel:~$ glxinfo -B
name of display: 0
display: :0 screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
Extended renderer info (GLX_MESA_query_renderer):
Vendor: nouveau (0x10de)
Device: NVE4 (0x11a2)
Version: 22.2.5
Accelerated: Yes
Video memory: 979MB
Unified memory: no
Preferred profile: core (0x1)
Max core provide version: 4.3
Max compat profile version: 4.3
Max GLES1 profile version: 1.1
Max GLES[23] profile vesion: 3.2
OpenGL vendor string: nouveau