thinkpad x220 wireless problem

13 Antworten [Letzter Beitrag]
rycw
Beigetreten: 09/27/2015

Hi!

I'm a newbie to Trisquel.And I have a problem with my thinkpad x220:the wireless don't work.The wireless adapter is Intel 82579LM.It runs with a open source driver e1000e.

Thanks

Chris

I am a member!

Beigetreten: 04/23/2011

"open source" doesn't mean free. It's another way of saying "I'm not really free or open, I just pretend to be". When "open source" people say free they often mean they don't charge for the software. They could care less beyond the practical implications and even then they often don't really care that much. Evidenced in the fact they accept proprietary bits and still call it "open source" despite it preventing users from being able to fix bugs, enhance code, add features, etc. The proprietary bits are often critical and the rest of the code is useless without it.

That's whats happening with your Intel wifi chip. That chip is dependent on proprietary bits that Trisquel doesn't include. So sure it's "open source", but it isn't free software. That is free as in libre or freedom/liberty.

If you care about freedom and liberty then the *only* solution is to stop using that hardware. There are options, but it involves replacing the wifi card.

davidnotcoulthard (nicht überprüft)
davidnotcoulthard

but it involves replacing the wifi card.

Or buying a USB card compatible with Libre software (which I'm oretty sure is easier and has a much higher (i.e. 100%) success rate.

Chris

I am a member!

Beigetreten: 04/23/2011

If you have a Lenovo, HP, Toshiba, Sony, Apple, or Dell computer I'd definitely recommend going with a USB wifi adapter over a PCIE/M2 card as these companies use digital restrictions or other proprietary parts. If you have a Lenovo system with LibreBoot already then go with a mini PCIE card. That's the only exception for these companies. I'd generally recommend avoiding said companies for these reasons.