Trisquel 9 slow start up, Thinkpad X200

5 Antworten [Letzter Beitrag]
iceburn
Beigetreten: 12/07/2019

Thinkpad X200, SSD, Trisquel 9 was an online upgrade from 8. Since changing from 8 to 9 the startup time has increased. It used to fire up very quickly and now after the initial power up screen there is about 20 seconds of black screen before the Trisquel logo and OS starts to load.

Why has the upgrade to 9 slowed the startup time ?
What can be done to make the startup time normal and fast and avoid the black screen pause ?

Avron

I am a translator!

Beigetreten: 08/18/2020

I am not sure when you have this 20s black screen exactly. On my X200, here is what I have:

1. I press the power button.
  2. after 8s, I see the grub menu from Libreboot
  3. after 4s, I see 3 error messages "disk xxx not found", "Attempting to decrypt master key..." and "Enter passphrase for ahci0,msdos1", with a Libreboot background
  4. I enter the passphrase
  5. after 1 minute and 15s, I see "slot 0 opened", "error: no such partition.", "error: disk 'ata0,1' not found", "error: no such partition", same 2 for ata0,2, ata0,3, ata0,4 and ata0,5 (the "no such partition" is not present after the last one), "error disk 'ahci1,1 not found.", same for ata1,1 ahci1,2 ata1,2 ahci 1,3 ata1,3, then "More".
  6. I press a key
  7. after 10s, I have the Trisquel cloudy sky over the sea background and I need to enter the encryption passphrase again. Before that, I see the Libreboot background without message, the screen becomes black very briefly and then Libreboot background again.
  8. I enter the passphrase.
  9. after 60s I have the graphical login screen

It seems much slower than you but I don't see 20s of black screen at any point in time. I never used Trisquel 8 on this laptop so I can't compare. I have an HDD, "hdparm -t /dev/sda" says 70 MB/s.

Do you have similar steps? At which step is the 20s black screen?

iceburn

With X200 plugged in to mains:

1. I press power button