Trisquel 9.02 mini, 32-bit, Will Not Install or Run Live

3 Antworten [Letzter Beitrag]
LeantoLinux
Beigetreten: 03/14/2022

Hello and thank you for letting me join this forum. I am a newbie with very little knowledge of Linux. I have 3 old PCs, 2 of which are year 2006 desktops and the other a year 2003 IBM Thinkpad R40e, all running WinXP. XP actually runs well enough but there are problems with apps particularly web browsers. I do have a Lenovo T420 Thinkpad i5 running Win10. Not my cup of tea at all but I need an MS supported device for some tasks.

I want to keep the old IBM Thinkpad running with Linux. I am encouraged in this hope by reading the minimal system hardware requirements of Trisquel and the advice given in a start page that there is experience here with Thinkpads!

I started with Linux by trying to run Puppy but only older versions would run and the included browsers would not work. I found from repeated downloading and burning of distros (all 32-bit) that, in general, those released after about 2011 will not run live or install. Exceptions I found were Bodhi 2.3.0 (year2013) and Mint 16.0 (year 2014) both installed. Mint 17.3 installed but crashed when I tried to open Firefox and then the same opening another app, Gimp IIRC. Mint 17.3 continues running in “fallback mode” after a crash.

2003 IBM Thinkpad R40e System Hardware Info:
CPU Intel® Mobile Pentium® 4 Processor-M, 1.8Ghz.
System Model 2684CVG.
HDD Fujitsu MHS2020AT E (PATA) 16.5GB usable.
RAM 1GB, the maximum possible.
CD-RW/DVD-ROM, TEAC DW-224E.

I have read that:
“Intel Mobile Pentium 4-M is the low-power version of the Mobile Pentium 4. It is built on the NetBurst architecure, which is optimized for achieving performance through high clock speeds. The Mobile P4-M uses the Northwood core.”

And that the R40 CPU is: Not the Intel Pentium M (Banias).
Ref: https://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Intel_Mobile_Pentium_4-M