Use which edition for hp Compaq Mini CQ10-400

9 Antworten [Letzter Beitrag]
Lappi
Beigetreten: 05/28/2022

I want to install a libre OS on a hp Compaq Mini CQ10-400, which had quite an expired Windows version on it, but am not sure which one to use. I tried Trisquel on a bootable USB, at first it came up with "Error:...", didn't get what it was about, then the screen proceeded to look normal. In the info on the computer about itself, it says memory size 1024 MBRAM. Windows will be gone from it. Advice what may fit on this device is appreciated, thanks!

Avron

I am a translator!

Beigetreten: 08/18/2020

>then the screen proceeded to look normal

Do you get the menu with the option to install Trisquel?

I guess Trisquel mini could be better than the default Trisquel (LXDE takes a bit less memory and by default uses a small enough font size for a resolution such as 1024 x 600, which is what I found your laptop has).

Lappi

It said "Try Trisquel without installing". - Decided to go with Trisquel-mini for this device, made a bootable USB, verified it. Now, though the Ethernet cable is plugged in, Abrowser is not connecting to the internet. Not sure whether things work differently in this regard on LXDE. No sense installing I can't get it to connect to the internet.

Lappi

Tried to find info on the LXDE forum about problems connecting to Wifi, there wasn't much there. Finally realized that I could use the bootable USB with Trisquel mini on it on a different device where I know the Ethernet cable works, which is where I'm writing from now. In case someone reads this and has an idea what could cause Abrowser not being able to connect to the internet with the Ethernet cable plugged in on the hp Compac mini CQ10-400 please let me know because I would like to install Trisquel mini on it to be able to use the internet.