Xbox 360 controller - works with free drivers?

11 Antworten [Letzter Beitrag]
Cyberhawk

I am a translator!

Beigetreten: 07/27/2010

I own the Xbox 360 gamepad. Yesterday I tried it out and it works perfectly fine, even force feedback is on. I have only trisquel repos enabled, although I used some ubuntu repos in the past, which are now disabled.

I don't know if I should be glad or not. It might mean that the thing usually works with free drivers. Or there is some overlooked binary-blob in the kernel that allows me to use the gamepad. How can I make sure the device runs with free drivers and does not load some kind of firmware?

AndrewT

I am a translator!

Beigetreten: 12/28/2009

Just download a fresh .iso and test out the gamepad to be sure. The kernel ought to be entirely free of nonfree blobs.

Cyberhawk

I am a translator!

It actually works. One only needs the xserver-xorg-input-joystick package. Also installed joystick, not sure if it's really necessary. Don't get me wrong, but the gamepad is quite good. For newer games at least, old-school things need a better D-pad, but one can't have anything in one package.

Cyberhawk

I am a translator!

It actually works. One only needs the xserver-xorg-input-joystick package.
Also installed joystick, not sure if it's really necessary. Don't get me
wrong, but the gamepad is quite good. For newer games at least, old-school
things need a better D-pad, but one can't have anything in one package.

Alden
Beigetreten: 03/04/2011

Good to know, I still have a day 1 360 red-ringed that I haven't fixed. I haven't been gaming much since I have attached myself to other passions... But I may fix it for the g/f's son, but then I wouldn't be teaching him right, now would I?

But since I have the hardware controller itself, I may use it until I get a free hardware one day... I can't wait! Now that I think about it, the specs and how it works may be freely available, and more so since free drivers do exist.

Cyberhawk