Librebooted T400 Sometimes Stays On

2 risposte [Ultimo contenuto]
PublicLewdness
Iscritto: 03/15/2020

I have a Librebooted Lenovo T400 that I got from Thonkpeasant that has a weird issue the last few months. Sometimes when I shut it down it looks like it's turned off but it isn't fully. The screen will be black and the lights will be off but I can still hear the CPU fan spinning. If I hold the power button it will fully turn it off. This only happens maybe once every three or four times I turn it off. I have tried shutting down the system by the shut down option on the menu as well as from the terminal and have seen this issue from both ways. Any ideas ? I don't know if this has to do with Libreboot or not so I mentioned it just in case. It runs the blobless Libreboot.

https://store.thonkpeasant.xyz/index.php?route=product/product&language=en-gb&product_id=51

Avron

I am a translator!

Iscritto: 08/18/2020

Which version of Libreboot do you have?

On my T400 that I got from minifree with osboot (with the non-free microcode update), it happens that when I want to shut down via menus, I have the mountain background and the Trisquel for a very long time and I finally shut it down by keeping the power button pressed until it switches of.

I did not notice the behaviour that you reported though.

Since we have similar machines, I can report some other strange behaviours I have:
- grub from the flash always fails to find any disk at reboot. This never occurs at first boot, or after switch off and start again.
- it can take a randomly long time for the cryptsetup screen of trisquel to come, whether I use grub or seabios, while when using seabios and selecting the other disk, the grub menu of parabola will always come up quickly
- in some cases, I don't even have the cryptsetup screen, just the trisquel breathing forever

PublicLewdness
Iscritto: 03/15/2020

"Which version of Libreboot do you have?"

I am running "Bleeding Libreboot Version 1.9".