To live with 100% Libre/Free software.

17 risposte [Ultimo contenuto]
Markmus

I am a member!

Iscritto: 11/19/2019

Hello everybody.

I have a question about the possibility to live with 100% libre/free software.

Currently I have a router with LibreCMC and a ThinkPad X200 with LibreBoot and Trisquel GNU/Linux. I'm trying to get a ReplicantOS compatible phone currently.

My issue is that I love music and I got TONS of CD's, Tapes, Minidiscs and Vinyls.

Tapes and vinyls are analog and can be played with pure analog equipment. But what about CD's and MiniDiscs? Both require some kind of digital/software to run.

Do I really need to drop having a CD player and Minidisc player in my HI-FI and get a librebooted device to play my music from ogg files?

Or is a CD player ok since there is no way to update the firmware on the device?

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Iscritto: 07/24/2010

Or is a CD player ok since there is no way to update the firmware on the device?

RMS's opinion is that, in that case, the software can be seen as a circuit and it is OK to run it.

Here is an excerpt of "Richard Stallman Answers Your Questions" (from 2014):

AC: As a follow-up, where exactly do you draw the line concerning [freeness of software] and whether or not you use software. For example, do you toast bread in a toaster that runs proprietary code? Obviously we're talking about different things here, but I'm curious to know at what point you say "no thanks!" when it comes to locked down technology.

RMS: The case of the toaster is very clear: we can't tell, except by taking it apart, whether it has a processor and software or a special-purpose chip. Since that we can't tell the difference, it makes no difference: therefore, a program that will never be changed is equivalent to a circuit. I don't care whether a toaster or microwave oven contains software.