rtl8723be wifi card

9 risposte [Ultimo contenuto]
massi76
Iscritto: 08/13/2018

i have a notebook hp (G4) with a pci wifi card who need a non-free software rtl8723be driver
i use this with a usb wifi-pen free (ar9170), but is possible to have thertl-driver in a new kernel-libre in the future??

nadebula.1984
Iscritto: 05/01/2018

Most non-Atheros WLAN cards do have free/libre drivers, and I believe that these free/libre drivers do exist in the kernel.

But non-Atheros cards can't work without non-free firmware. In other words, without non-free firmware, those free/libre drivers are useless.

chaosmonk

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Iscritto: 07/07/2017

> i have a notebook hp (G4) with a pci wifi card who need a non-free
> software rtl8723be driver

Some Realtek WiFi cards do work without non-free firmware. A friend of
mine has an rtl8188ee, which is functional, though not always reliable,
with Trisquel. I have not tested the rtl8723be, so I cannot promise
that this will work, but you might try installing the latest
Linux-libre.

If that doesn't work, please tell us the exact model of your laptop.
That will determine what your other options are.

nadebula.1984

He said that his notebook belongs to the HP G4 series.

Unfortunately, HP notebooks are heavily encumbered by whitelist restrictions. Unless this series has ath5k/9k cards approved by HP's firmware, it's impossible to replace the WLAN card with a free/libre one.

chaosmonk

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Iscritto: 07/07/2017

> Unfortunately, HP notebooks are heavily encumbered by whitelist
> restrictions. Unless this series has ath5k/9k cards approved by HP's
> firmware, it's impossible to replace the WLAN card with a free/libre
> one.

Do you have a list of which laptop manufacturers do and don't impose
whitelist restrictions? I know that HP and Lenovo do. Are there any
who don't?

Also, have you yourself written or considered writing any documentation