Wifi card for X200

5 risposte [Ultimo contenuto]
Avron

I am a translator!

Iscritto: 08/18/2020

I have a laptop that has "X201i" at the bottom right of the screen but it is librebooted and lshw says it is an X200 with a P8400 CPU, so it looks really like an X200.

The wifi card is an Intel Ultimate N WiFi Link 5300 that does not work without non-free software so I'd like to replace it.

I see that Vikings is selling an Atheros AR9380 AR5BHB112 450Mbps 2.4/5 GHz Wireless mini PCIe Card, which has 3 antennas, at https://store.vikings.net/en/atheros450.

ThinkPenguin is selling another card, with RY certification, that has 2 antennas, at https://www.thinkpenguin.com/gnu-linux/wireless-n-pci-express-dual-band-mini-half-height-card-w-full-height-bracket-option-tpe-nh

Should both cards work equally well? Should I first open the laptop to see whether there are two or three antennas currently, and then chose the card according to the number of antennas? The most important for me is that the card works, reasonable well.

lanun
Iscritto: 04/01/2021

An expert voice once said:

"If your X200 has three antennae for WLAN (grey, black, white), purchase one AR9380. If only two antennae (grey and black) are available, purchase one AR9382."

https://trisquel.info/en/forum/compatible-usb-wifi-adapters#comment-160799

NB: he also called the AR9285 "a rather low-end one", so that probably possibly applies to the AR9280 too.

EDIT: probably > possibly. Numbering can be tricky, so it is difficult to tell how "reasonably well" the AR9280 would work.

Vikings_thum
Iscritto: 04/04/2017

They both work equally well in terms of the driver/firmware situation.

So far I didn't come across an X200 that only has two antenna cables. But better be save than sorry.

Avron

I am a translator!

Iscritto: 08/18/2020