How do I play H.265/HEVC via vlc?

20 replies [Last post]
nevermoreraven

I am unable to play hevc. Is there a free software repo I can use?

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

For players using the GStreamer plugins (such as Trisquel's default player), there is this PPA: https://launchpad.net/~strukturag/+archive/ubuntu/libde265

For more players, there is this PPA, which includes VLC 2.2.1: https://launchpad.net/~mc3man/+archive/ubuntu/trusty-media

The usual warning applies: these repositories being out of the control of Trisquel, they may include proprietary software or even malware. Even if they do not now, they could tomorrow and have you install it along an apparently trifling update.

SuperTramp83

I am a translator!

>The usual warning applies: these repositories being out of the control of Trisquel, they may include proprietary software or even malware. Even if they do not now, they could tomorrow and have you install it along an apparently trifling update.

very well said, I wish this warning be posted each time there is a ppa recommendation. +45

strypey

Given that we currently seem to have a choice between installing the PPA, or not being able to play HEVC files, pouring scorn on people choosing to install the PPA is rather like pouring scorn on people drinking polluted water when their only alternative is to not drink water at all. If and when a more recent release of VLC that supports HEVC out of the box becomes available through the Trisquel repos, there will no need to take the risk installing the PPA. Any idea when this might happen?

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

You will not die if you do not watch HEVC videos. The PPA probably are fine if you do not want to wait for Trisquel 8 (where those formats will certainly be supported).

nevermoreraven

For How to for others who read this post and wonder why it doesn't work. Here is the commands to get vlc to be able to play x265/hevc.