libreboot t400 is now available for purchase on minifree (gluglug)

25 replies [Last post]
SuperTramp83

I am a translator!

lembas

Makes me so happy that there are actual computers I can buy when my sturdy old warhorse finally dies.

moxalt

I'm a little bit confused as to whether the T400 is actually newer than the
X200- neither are on the Lenovo website or mentioned on Wikipedia, so I'm not
sure which is better. What are the principal differences? They seem extremely
similar to me, except that Minifree sell the T400 for more, and the T400 seems
to have an inferior keyboard (according to reviews). Any significant
differences? Which is better?

Garsmith

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Category:X200
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Category:T400

Except specification differences I know

T400 can upgrade CPU (I think can upgrade to Quad Core)
X200 need to replace motherboard to CPU upgrade
T400 has stereo speakers
X200 dock has Displayport and optical drive
T400 dock has no Displayport

I havnt tested T400 but X200 is very nice. If you dont need performance and only a computer for surfing, light games it's great. Extend it with a dock and you have Displayport but I think with no sound. X200 have the problem with the "electric noise" that is normal with Core 2 Duo computers.

JadedCtrl

The Minifree is truly a beautiful computer, isn't it?
It has so many ports-- 'tis a great refurbishing job. *AND* it has Libreboot!

tomlukeywood

i wonder why it hasn’t got a "Respects Your Freedom hardware product certification"
from the FSF yet?

moxalt

It'll take them some time to get it certified. I'm sure the FSF have been
informed of the release.

Triqel

However these models are not USB 3 ports available.
Are these models equipment with other than mainstream language keyboards?

davidnotcoulthard (not verified)
davidnotcoulthard