Realtek RTL8188CE wireless problem

4 replies [Last post]
YoHooComics

My Realtek RTL8188CE wireless card on my laptop won't work in Trisquel. I checked on h-node.org and found out it is incompatible with free software. I want to get on the internet on this thing. It worked in other distros with no non-free software installed, so i think it is run by non-free Linux Kernel Module that is not included in Linux-Libre. Is there any way to get this wireless working on this laptop with only free software?
Thanks in advance.

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

The driver is distributed under the GPL... but the firmware is proprietary. To run free, you will need to acquire another Wifi card (or a Wifi dongle, especially if your laptop vendor practice "treacherous computing").

It is very hard to know if a card that never ran will be handled by Linux-libre. The model alone is not enough because the manufacturers frequently replace the chipset of a given model. One strategy that works for sure is to buy the card/dongle from ThinkPenguin. By using the subsequent link, 25% of the benefits on your purchase are donated to the Trisquel project: http://libre.thinkpenguin.com

YoHooComics

Thanks, Magic Banana, i'll look into the ThinkPenguin USB wifi adapters.

bluejupiter

I got a dongle for my laptop and it was I think a Realtek8919 model, it has worked great. I've had it over a year now and it still works.

Chris

I am a member!

On Trisquel? I think your mistaken.

The N & G USB chipsets that are supported in Trisquel are:

RTL8187/RTL8187B/RTL8187L/AR9170 and AR9271/AR7010/AR9280 will be... shortly (requires firmware install still, unless this changed, and I missed the announcement, jxself?).

For N mini pcie / mini pcie half height wireless N cards Trisquel supports: