Trouble getting nouveau to load instead of vesa for my nvidia 970

13 replies [Last post]
calebhc

Hello! I'm completely new to Trisquel and libre software. I just did a fresh install of Trisquel 7 64 bit and everything went fine except my computer keeps using the basic vesa drivers instead of the nouveau ones. I updated all of my packages to the latest and even installed the latest linux-libre64 kernel. My Xorg.0.log shows that vesa is getting loaded. I went to the nouveau maintainer's website and looked at the trouble shooting section and tried their basic "4 line" x-server config but that didn't help me either. My graphics card is an nvidia gtx 970. I have attached my Xorg.0.log output in case anyone is interested in looking at it. Hopefully I'm just missing something obvious or my card won't work with the free software drivers. If so, I'll have to look into purchasing another graphics card since I don't want to run any proprietary drivers.

Thanks for your time! :)

AttachmentSize
Xorg.0.log_.txt23.29 KB
calebhc

Well I did some more digging and found this post https://trisquel.info/en/forum/upgraded-video-card. Looks like I need to get an older nvidia card and check h-node to see what card I should buy. I'll keep this thread updated with what I end up getting. :)

vita_cell

The bad is, that your GPU need signed Nvidia's firmware (more than non-free obviously). And deblobbed Linux won't give you that firmware, because is Nvidia's blob and it is missing. Your GPU can not to work properly without that signed firmware.

Do you want the best performance without blobs? buy Kepler card with gddr5:

https://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/CodeNames/#NVE0

avoid gtx750, gtx750ti...

------------------------------------------------------------------------

And yes, I had gtx970, I prefer my gtx770 with true 4gb (gtx970 has 3,5gb), and my gt730 with 2gb gddr5.

calebhc