What distribution 100% libre=

10 replies [Last post]
Dew1618

Hi everybody! I have hardware 100% libre, and I want to use (if it is good) a distribution free. What do you recommend me?

- Dragora
- Trisquel
- Parabola

I love simplicity, but I can use other distro xD. How is Dragora? There's very little information about it...

Thanks =)

akirashinigami

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Trisquel, hands down. Then again, this is the Trisquel forum, so I may be a bit biased ;)

onpon4

I don't know much about Dragora either, but I've read that it's more or less similar to Slackware.

Trisquel is the easiest to use out of those three. Parabola will give you the most cutting-edge software. Dragora is the simplest (as in KISS principles).

There are other valid choices, too.

gNewSense is based on Debian, but currently a bit behind (it's catching up), the current beta being based on Debian 6. I think the main reason to use it is to work on architectures other than x86 and otherwise Trisquel is better.

Ututo XS is based on Gentoo. Everything on the website is in Spanish and it seems to be meant for Spanish speakers.

BLAG, Dyne:bolic, and Musix probably shouldn't be bothered with. They're all outdated, and Dyne:bolic and Musix aren't meant to be installed.

a_slacker_here

Let see if I can help you to make a decision:

If you like simplicity I think dragora is a good choice. It behaves like Slackware just as onpon4 said; let me elaborate on that:

-Dragora is meant to be the user who makes all the packages so be prepared for compiling and configuring because it is a slow process.

-It shares similarities with the Slackware way of configurating the system; simple, and yet elegant scripts, that makes the user confortable in configurating your OS. It is easy to see and understand the source code of those scripts to see what are they doing and manipulate those files by hand if you don't like to use little programs to configure the system.