What wifi card should I buy and where? (For a Thinkpad T530)

8 replies [Last post]
loola

I bought this laptop refurbished from newegg, and it came with a nonfree Intel Wifi card that isn't recognized by Trisquel. I'm wondering where I should buy a laptop wifi card that is supported by the latest release of Trisquel, and will fit into my machine.

SkedarKing

Well for Trisquel to recognize it, it would have to be a ath9k, the problem?
The stock bios will get in the way... however... there is a solution.

Zerocat might be willing to flash coreboot + me cleaner on it for you.

Or if you know what you are doing, I suppose you could also do so.

But I would be extremely careful if you try that road. To be honest, I would really avoid that altogether and choose the zerocat option.

If you don't like either of those options, the only other option is a usb wifi adapter dongle.

I hope this helps.

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

The support of Wi-Fi is a significant problem we face. It will not disappear anytime soon: acquiring a supported USB adapter (or several: I bought five some years ago, to give to people I care about and who want to try a 100% free GNU/Linux distribution) is a lasting investment for your freedom.

To have certainty that a Wi-Fi adapter will work, choose it on https://ryf.fsf.org/products?category=7 that will lead you to some of the few vendors that guarantee that they sell hardware that perfectly works with 100% free GNU/Linux systems. For instance you can buy from http://libre.thinkpenguin.com whose CEO, Chris, is to be thanked for convincing Qualcomm to liberate the firmware for AR7010 and AR9271 chipsets.

If you refuse to support those free-software-activist vendors, paying the (high) price they sell their adapters, search for AR9271, which is by far the more available chipset that will work with 100% free GNU/Linux systems. For instance on sites such as eBay: https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw=AR9271

SkedarKing