WIFI not working on DELL D610 - HELP -

18 replies [Last post]
badspell68

Dell Latitude D610

Did the install from CD, everything went great. But after boot I noticed that the wifi hardware was not detected and not working. Blue-Tooth works and I believe wifi and Blue-Tooth are part of the same hardware. Only Ethernet is working and I am unable to figure out what is happening.

Any one see this before or have suggestions?

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Your Wifi chipset probably requires a proprietary firmware, which Linux-libre (hence Trisquel) does not include. We may be able to confirm that if you give us the output of that command (to be executed from a terminal):
$ lspci | grep Network

The recommended solution is to buy a replacing hardware at ThinkPenguin, the only reseller that guarantees the device will be handled by Linux-libre. Besides, by using the link I gave, 25% of the profits made on your purchase will be donated to the Trisquel project.

Unfortunately, it is possible that your laptop does not allow replacing the Wifi PCI card. Indeed, Dell now practices "treacherous computing". As a consequence, you had better acquire a USB Wifi dongle.

badspell68

Here it is:
03:03.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2915ABG [Calexico2] Network Connection (rev 05)

Anything?

badspell68

I have been doing a bit of reading and it seems this card is supported and that I may not have the driver...does this seem likely?

aloniv

I am a translator!

The Intel card requires proprietary firmware and thus will not work with the kernel provided in Trisquel.

badspell68

Is there a card in the Trisquel store that will fit the slot and does that card also have Blue-tooth?

badspell68

I am reading that the driver is standard in Ubuntu...is not Trisquel a derivative of Ubuntu?

onpon4

Ubuntu includes the nonfree firmware. Trisquel doesn't, because it aims to be a completely free distribution.