Trisquel 10.0 feedback 2.0

27 replies [Last post]
Ark74

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 07/15/2009

Hello again,

Well first I'll like to thank for all the previous feedback at https://trisquel.info/es/forum/trisquel-100-feedback

In the last weeks we have been reviewing and fixing the reported issues on the previous thread and some other nice updates for nabia, as before the results are visibly good almost at the level of a RC material, but we'll find out soon enough.

There are new nabia isos for testing (10-Dec-2021),

http://cdbuilds.trisquel.org/

In case you still experience details with downloading iso images, again, you could make use of lftp,

sudo apt install lftp
lftp -c 'set net:idle 10
set net:max-retries 0
set net:reconnect-interval-base 3
set net:reconnect-interval-max 3
pget -n 10 -c "http://cdbuilds.trisquel.org/triskel_10.0_amd64.iso"'

Where triskel can be any version you want to try.

Thanks in advance for your attention.

austomus
Offline
Joined: 12/06/2021

Hello, when I try to boot into the Triskel 10.0 live CD (the 10-Dec-2021 version), this happens.

I have an NV160 series GPU, and this doesn't happen on Etiona or Parabola.

366c256c-aaf2-44b4-9498-c751b0667080.jpg
Ark74

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 07/15/2009

I'm not very familiar with the nouveau driver performance.

I wonder if this behavior is related kernel or user space software.

Could you try etiona live image 9.0.1?, just to confirm this is not related to a kernel cleaning update from the linux-libre project some months ago.

Both kernels for nabia and etiona got updated back then.

If you boot using nomodeset kernel parameter, does it behaves different?

austomus
Offline
Joined: 12/06/2021

If I set the nomodeset kernel parameter, it boots!
But now the screen is slightly stretched, resolution is stuck at 1024x768, and refresh rate is stuck at 76Hz.

Also, animations (e.g. opening the application launcher) work, but they don't work in Parabola, and it boots in 9.0.1.

Ark74

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 07/15/2009

Seems to be a very specific driver/kernel issue, maybe using a newer version of the kernel than the default can help.

For nabia (t10) the default is 5.4.x, you can upgrade it to 5.8.x and possibly 5.11.x at some point, and can be addressed on a installed system.

A lot of users run linux-libre latest release packaged by jxself, to use the latest and greatest linux-libre kernel releases.
https://jxself.org/linux-libre/

Hopefully that can solve this specific issue.

Martins
Offline
Joined: 04/24/2013

Trying the T10 live USB on an acer aspire 5742G gave two lines of text overwriting the top portion of the Sky image in the live boot menu along with a pop-up: /casper/vmlinuz: file not found OK[].
Could it be that the system biught new in 2012 is too old? It is a 4 core i3 processor that supports max 4GB in each of two memory banks presently loaded with 2GB and 1GB RAM respectively.

lanun
Offline
Joined: 04/01/2021

Giving a try to Trisquel Mini 10.0 Nabia (10-Dec-2021 release) I noticed that the main menu looks really tiny, compared to the desktop icons. In fact, all menu item texts look smaller than what the allocated space would seem to permit, including in window menus. Is that supposed to be the normal behavior with LXDE? On a 10" eeepc screen, this somehow comes as an improvement, although possibly not for farsighted users.

Some minor points:

1. I cannot see any battery indicator, neither while charging nor discharging. Maybe this is supposed to be added on the panel by the user? LXDE usually has this policy of keeping things minimal by default, which it does well.

2. The 'Setup Hot Keys' utility lxhotkey needs the openbox plugin to work:
~$ sudo apt install lxhotkey-plugin-openbox

3. All tooltips are empty, or the text is the same color as the background.

Other than that, it is just starting, running and shutting down really fast. Great job.

Ark74

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 07/15/2009

Thanks for the heads up, we'll take a look at it.

Update: About the tooltips, could you share some images, I can't find what you are referring too.

lanun
Offline
Joined: 04/01/2021

Thanks, here are two examples of empty tooltips.

NB: I installed kazam in order to be able to get screenshots, and the kazam window tooltips are readable. I now realize that the problem is limited to the desktop (all elements there have empty tooltips) and to some utilities like PCManFM and Image Viewer.

tooltips.jpg tooltips1.jpg
Ark74

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 07/15/2009

Next theme update should fix the issue.
Cheers.

lanun
Offline
Joined: 04/01/2021

Indeed, the last update fixed the issue, thanks!

Avron
Offline
Joined: 08/18/2020

Thanks, I also tried both Trisquel and Trisquel mini installers.

> I noticed that the main menu looks really tiny, compared to the desktop icons.
> On a 10" eeepc screen, this somehow comes as an improvement, although possibly not for farsighted users.

Main menu is "Sans 8" and desktop icons look like "Sans 11". On a 14" screen, 1366x768 resolution, I'd set "Sans 10" at least.

Language suggestions for improvement (for both installers):
1. during installation, could the introduction text (not for interaction) be in the selected Language? (I selected French, I see English)
2. could the installer install the localization package of abrowser according to the selected language?

Ark74

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 07/15/2009

> 1. during installation, could the introduction text (not for interaction) be in the selected Language? (I selected French, I see English)

We need help on the localization, so far we only have,
- de
- es
- gl
- it
- sv

You might want to submit a translation.

Cheers!

Avron
Offline
Joined: 08/18/2020

Where can I get the text to translate and how to submit the translation?

lanun
Offline
Joined: 04/01/2021

The original texts and the translations are behind the link posted by Ark74, in the various html files:

https://gitlab.trisquel.org/trisquel/trisquel-packages/-/tree/master/10.0/ubiquity-slideshow-trisquel/data/usr/share/ubiquity-slideshow/slides
https://gitlab.trisquel.org/trisquel/trisquel-packages/-/tree/master/10.0/ubiquity-slideshow-trisquel/data/usr/share/ubiquity-slideshow/slides/l10n

Maybe the screenshots could be localized too.

By the way, I just noticed that this may need updating: "join our chat channel #trisquel at freenode" (in help.html).

Ark74

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 07/15/2009

oh! freenode :P
Time to update that.

lanun
Offline
Joined: 04/01/2021

> how to submit the translation?

https://gitlab.trisquel.org/users/sign_in says:

"Due to spam issues we've had to disable automatic user registration. Please contact with a staff member through the contact form at the Trisquel GNU/Linux website so we can set-up your GitLab account."

Ark74

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 07/15/2009

Well yeah, spam accounts are a problem.

Please join at #trisquel-dev on libera.chat or the devel mailing list to ask for an account.
Cheers!

Markmus

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 11/19/2019

I'll gladly do a Danish translation. But I don't know how to do it.

Ark74

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 07/15/2009

I think the "best" (if such term applies), would be to send a MR through GitLab.

If you don't have the git account/knowledge and you only want to do this task, the you can just download the files on the url previously refereed [1] & [2] and translate them, then attach them here in a zip file, see the examples on the l10n folder[2].

Users with gitlab account (like me) can take the further steps for it to reach the MR state.

1. https://gitlab.trisquel.org/trisquel/trisquel-packages/-/tree/master/10.0/ubiquity-slideshow-trisquel/data/usr/share/ubiquity-slideshow/slides
2. https://gitlab.trisquel.org/trisquel/trisquel-packages/-/tree/master/10.0/ubiquity-slideshow-trisquel/data/usr/share/ubiquity-slideshow/slides/l10n

Cheers.

Markmus

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 11/19/2019

I have sendt you the translations on e-mail. Good weekend.

lanun
Offline
Joined: 04/01/2021

I have now been able to test it on a different machine, and it seems that the smaller fonts are probably a feature of LXDE. I guess it should be possible for the user to modify the font size, although I am not sure how that is supposed to be done.

EDIT: it can be done in the Preferences > Customize Look and Feel utility. Setting the default font size to 10 made things more readable for my farsighted eyes.

zorzi
Offline
Joined: 12/28/2021

Hello,

I really like Trisquel default look.
It just seems to miss a specific icon for iso.files. Iso files have text file icon instead.
Could it be possible to fix it ?
Thanks for this great distribution.

lanun
Offline
Joined: 04/01/2021

I did not get your point until I realized that I am not currently using the default icon set.

The default Trisquel icon for iso files is indeed very similar to the icon for text files, the subtle difference being the lines on the stylized page:

text_file_icon.png data_file_icon.png
zorzi
Offline
Joined: 12/28/2021

Oh yes. Thanks for answering. But I wish there could be a more meaningful icon.

Martins
Offline
Joined: 04/24/2013

Gracias!

1) For some reason T10's menu bar at the bottom displays the tooltips in an invisible zone below the screen for the CPU temperature widget.

2) Screenshots of windows now include a transparent alpha channel border creating an unwanted increase in the image dimensions with no meaningful data when viewing them with gwenview, ristretto, viewnior or image magicks's display.

3) Screenshots in a T9 installation on another Lenovo system preserve menus that appear when hovering on a relevant item in abrowser. This is no longer the case with T10 on my asus.

Ark74

I am a member!

Offline
Joined: 07/15/2009

Please when reporting visual issues, try to add some pictures to have some frame of reference, also it makes easier the to locate the issue.

Regards

Martins
Offline
Joined: 04/24/2013

Gracia:

Here are three screenshots outlining display issues.

1) Hovering tooltip cannot be screenshot at all in Trisquel 10 so I have an example of how it works in Trisquel 9 desktop from a taskbar applet. In Trisquel 10 it is for a CPU temparture applet where the tooltips appear BELOW, out of sight.

2) Side by side display of about abrowser using two instances of the same (can be any) viewer but screenshots without and with unwanted transparent border.

3) Display of screenshot able to capture hovering info from abrowser download menu in Trisquel 9. This is not possible in Trisquel 10.

Hopefully this might clarify what I wrote about in reference to unwanted alpha channel border.

Screenshot at 2022-01-16 21-35-28.png Screenshot at 2022-01-16 21-28-17.png Screenshot at 2022-01-02 01-43-03.png