WiFi on Macbook Air 5-2 (13", 2012) not working

119 replies [Last post]
matt

Hello guys,

I have installed Trisquel 6 64-bit on a 2012 Macbook Air with a Broadcom BCM43xx WiFi chip. However, the Wi-Fi is not working at all. :(

Unfortunately, my USB Wi-Fi adapter (TL-WN722N) isn't working either which makes me unable to connect to the Internet at all.

(My Logitech M555b bluetooth mouse won't connect either, but let's leave this out of this question...)

Is there a simple way for me to download the required drivers in OSX and safe on an external flash drive so that I may install them later in Trisquel?

Both the WiFi and mouse worked out of the box in Ubuntu 12.04 64-bit (no proprietary Wi-Fi driver). However, I have no experience installing missing drivers if the install routine does not do it for me.

Is anybody willing to help me?

Greetings,
Matt

matt

The specific Chip is BCM43224 (14e4:4353).

The brcmsmac open source driver is supposed to work and was merged in to the kernel 2.6.37 (according to https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Driver/bcm43xx). I guess that's why with Ubuntu 12.04 everything worked out of the box - but not in Trisquel.

matt

Ok, following these instructions I have tried something - but did not succeed. (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Driver/bcm43xx).

1. Install the b43-fwcutter package
Source: https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/b43-fwcutter/1:015-9/+build/2994319:
cd /cdrom/pool/main/b/b43-fwcutter/
sudo dpkg -i b43-fwcutter*

2. Install the firmware:
Source: http://mirror2.openwrt.org/sources/broadcom-wl-5.10.56.27.3_mipsel.tar.bz2
tar xfvj broadcom-wl-5.10.56.27.3_mipsel.tar.bz2
sudo b43-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware broadcom-wl-5.10.56.27.3/driver/wl_apsta/wl_prebuilt.o

3. Switch Drivers
Unload conflicting drivers:
sudo modprobe -r b43 bcma
sudo modprobe -r brcmsmac bcma
sudo modprobe -r wl
Load new driver:
sudo modprobe b43