AMD HD 6310 APU Drivers

16 respostas [Última entrada]
BlinkingArrow

I am a member!

I want to install a Free Software driver for this card so I can get acceleration. I'm not sure if there's any driver for it or where to get it, so any help will be appreciated. Thanks!

Chris

I am a member!

AMD released specifications for its graphics chipsets so free drivers can be developed. However, 6xxx series cards 3d acceleration won't exist until at least the next version of Trisquel. I don't believe it will work then either though as a non-free driver is still necessary. That will be resolved eventually. Mesa 7.11 is needed for 3d acceleration with this card and I know that is missing in Trisquel 5 (7.10 is present).

oysterboy

I am a member!

I am a translator!

I hadn't heard about that. Great news! Is there a list somewhere of the graphics chipsets whose specs have been released? What about Radeon HD4200 for instance (my card, for which I don't have 3D acceleration with Trisquel). Is there any hope that I will have 3D acceleration with this card one day on a fully-free system?

Mampir

Is the issue with the binary-blob firmware resolved? This firmware is
needed for the 3D acceleration to work, and all AMD GPUs don't and won't
work with 3D acceleration in a free system like Trisquel.

This was discussed several times in this list/forum, for example here:
https://trisquel.info/en/forum/3d-and-free-software-trisquel#comment-4170

Chris

I am a member!

I was trying to be careful in my wording here as to suggest lack of knowledge. I do not know of any solution to this problem. I did not even know there was a non-free firmware component in ATI's graphics chipsets. If there is a solution being worked on to replace this firmware I would be interested in keeping tabs on it.

ivaylo

В 19:21 +0100 на 02.01.2012 (пн), chris[@nospam] написа:
> AMD released specifications for its graphics chipsets so free drivers can be
> developed.