Free Driver for Ralink RT2790?

40 respostas [Última entrada]
wpurcell

I just purchased a EEE PC B202 which has a Ralink RT2790 wireless card. Does anyone know if there are free drivers for this card? I'm running a stock Trisquel 6.01 system. I guess the alternative will be a USB dongle.
Thanks for your time.

leny2010

I am a member!

I am a translator!

The Debian page[1] for the driver talks of them removing the firmware
from their kernel, so presumably it's non-free.

[1] https://wiki.debian.org/rt2860sta

wpurcell

Thank you leny2010. I just noticed that the sound is not working either. Perhaps I should have done my homework!

lembas

Check all mixers to make sure it's not muted. E.g. alsamixer from the command line. (m to un/mute a channel) If memory serves double clicking or was it right clicking the gnome sound volume applet takes you to a pulse audio GUI mixer.

leny2010

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Note that Asus are not in the Chris gives [1] as known to anti-feature their BIOSes to stop you replacing the WiFi card. So finding a YouTube video on how to open yours are replacing the WiFi PCIe card (might be half height?) with one from ebay or somewhere similar would seem to be a good idea. Dongle's are great but they can get caught or be forgotten when you're moving the laptop about.

I've done it on one of my machines and the PCIe card only cost 8GBP, which generally means it would cost the same number of Euros or Dollars elsewhere in the world.

[1] https://trisquel.info/en/forum/do-msi-drm-their-wifi-anyone-using-msi-u135dx

leny2010

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Oo, look like the other Ralink device on the forum today - it is all licensed under the GPL

http://www.mediatek.com/en/downloads/rt2860pcimpcicbpciert2760rt2790rt2860rt2890/