Free (as in freedom) drivers for GPUs GEFORCE 7300GT and AMD Radeon HD 4650

12 respostas [Última entrada]
Piriponzolo

Hello to everyone. Can anyone tell me if does exist free (as in freedom) drivers for GPUs GEFORCE 7300GT and AMD Radeon HD 4650?

BenTheMoose

For Nvidia cards you can view Nouveau's (free-software Nvidia driver) feature matrix : https://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/FeatureMatrix/

The 7300GT is classified as an NV40, which is supported. You can see which features are available by looking at its corresponding column.

SuperTramp83

I am a translator!

AMD gpus require proprietary firmware for video acceleration and get very hot in the summer. An Intel gpu seems the best option, OP.

Malsasa

Hello SuperTramp, thank you for this information. Now I know I should avoid buying AMD because of this.

vita_cell

I tested much GPUs with free software (only). All >> "ALL" ! AMD/ATI GPUs need non-free firmware data blob, it is not an runnable, just data, but trully non-free. This blob is about 2kb or about 70 lines of hex code in old graphics cards, today (for new cards) is about 500kb or even more, it is much harder to try reverse engineer it. Some (mostly) old ATI cards can work (really NOT well) without that blob, but forget about 3d (even 2d) acceleration, I can say that it is almost not usable without that blob, and some ATI/AMD card will not show/detect the right monitor's EDID and resolution. So if you try to use AMD/ATI card without a proper blob (all blobs included in standard non-free linux in /lib/firmware/radeon/, obviously you will not find those in linux-libre or one deblobbed linux), the main processor(CPU) will do all software rendering (for 2d for example), and it is a bit slow and buggy), very unpleasant. AMD/ATI GPUs can not to work properly without this blob, just forget those GPUs forever if you want use a computer with free software only. Also some chips can overheat if here is no blob loaded.