nvidia GeForce 450 GTS driver

15 respostas [Última entrada]
ik2uz

I am trying to install my video driver, which is listed in the title. I have the driver file, but for installation I need to do it with the X server shut off and I can not figure out how to shut the X server off. Thanks in advance.

Cyberhawk

I am a translator!

You shouldn't be required to do anything fancy for installing the free driver, which is contained in the repositories. Just do:
sudo aptitude install xserver-xorg-video-nouveau

If you are trying to install the proprietary driver from Nvidias website, think twice before you do. It is non-free and denies the users essential freedoms. One of the effects of such denial is, no one knows how each proprietary driver will work with each distribution. Once I made a distro unbootable by installing the ATI proprietary driver. I'm not saying it will happen with any proprietary driver, just that there is a certain risk in using one.

leny2010

I am a member!

I am a translator!

On 03/01/12 00:11, name at domain wrote:
> You shouldn't be required to do anything fancy for installing the free
> driver, which is contained in the repositories. Just do:
> sudo aptitude install xserver-xorg-video-nouveau

If only it were that simple. In the release of nouveau's kernel module
Trisquel is currently carrying as maintained in the past week, it
appears the developers' use of a non-free firmware blob for skeleton
purposes which drove NVC0 cards such as the 450GTS and my 440 has been
spotted. You will recall the release notes for the kernel update said
'removed non-free stuff.'

The nouveau team have as of November declared all free firmware
availability for some NVC0 series cards including the 440 and 450, but
that doesn't appear to have made it to Trisquel. The nouveau commits are
against their own copy of a 2.6 kernel tree, so in theory one could
build your own kernel. I haven't yet because I can use my onboard gfx.